Toggle Mobile Menu


Since 1997, Princeton BCF has been building innovative academic programs and research activities to shape existing practices and knowledge around modern finance and monetary economics. Established by former Economics Department Chair Ben Bernanke and Founding Director Professor Yacine Ait-Sahalia to elevate the role of the academic discipline of finance, the center’s proud legacy as an innovator in the field continues today. Markus Brunnermeier has served as Princeton BCF Director since 2014.

From our ongoing initiatives designed to support Ph.D. students around the world to our academic programs for undergraduate and graduate students at Princeton, we’re committed to supporting the next generation of researchers both inside and outside the classroom.


Our Master in Finance program, which consistently ranks  #1 in academic program rankings, prepares students to excel in some of the world’s most competitive industries.

Learn more


We’re proud to tell incoming Master in Finance students that, over the last several years, we’ve helped each of our students secure employment post-graduation.

Learn more


In 2019, Princeton BCF students became some of the first to earn the graduate-level Certificate in Machine Learning. Students who complete the certificate are uniquely qualified to earn competitive positions at leading tech companies.

Learn more

The center is proud to be home to dozens of award-winning faculty whose research has propelled the field of finance forward.

Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences

Christopher Sims (2011)
Paul Krugman (2008)
Daniel Kahneman (2002)


Nobuhiro Kiyotaki, Honorary Doctorate from the University of Edinburgh

John Bates Clark Medal

Yuliy Sannikov (2016)

J.L. Doob Prize from the American Mathematical Society

Rene Carmona (2019)

Fischer Black Prize

Yuliy Sannikov (2015)
Harrison Hong (2009)

Bernacer Prize

Markus Brunnermeier (2008)

Presidential Medal of Freedom

Daniel Kahneman (2013)

Fellow of the Econometric Society

Mikhail Golosov (2014)
Ulrich Müller (2014)
Markus Brunnermeier (2010)
Hyun Shin (2004)
Yacine Aït-Sahalia (2002)
Stephen Morris (2002)
Nobuhiro Kiyotaki (1997)
Alan Krueger (1996)
Daniel Kahneman (1993)
Mark Watson (1992)
Dilip Abreu (1991)
Paul Krugman (1986)
Alan Blinder (1981)
Christopher Sims (1974)
Gregory Chow (1967)

Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences

Chris Sims
Daniel Kahneman
Jose A. Scheinkman

Fellow of the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics

Robert Vanderbei (2012)
Rene Carmona (2009)

Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics

Jianqing Fan
Rene Carmona

Guggenheim Fellowship

Markus Brunnermeier (2010)
Jianqing Fan (2009)
Yacine Aït-Sahalia (2008)
Jose A. Scheinkman (2007)
Stephen Morris (2005)

Sloan Fellowship

Yuliy Sannikov (2010)
Mikhail Golosov (2008)
Ulrich Müller (2008)
Markus Brunnermeier (2005)
Yacine Aït-Sahalia (1998)
Stephen Morris (1996)
Alan Krueger (1992)
Dilip Abreu (1988)

Smith Breeden and Brattle Prizes

Markus Brunnermeier, Brattle Prize (2013)
Wei Xiong, Smith Breeden Prize (2012)
Atif Mian, Brattle Prize (2010)
Markus Brunnermeier, Smith Breeden Prize (2004)

Distinguished Fellows

Gregory Chow, American Economic Association (2014)
Alan Blinder, American Economic Association (2011)
Daniel Kahneman, American Economic Association (2011)


Princeton BCF’s top-rated Master in Finance program couples tailored career services with advanced academic coursework in financial and monetary economics, data analysis, financial engineering, and computational methods.


Since its founding, Princeton BCF has awarded its undergraduate Certificate in Finance to nearly 1,000 students from majors across the university.

As a multidisciplinary center, Princeton BCF faculty bring expertise from across the university, including the Department of Economics, the Department of Operations and Financial Research, the Department of Computer Science, the Department of History, and the Department of Math.